Jagware
theloon

Self publish or Not?

theloon    0

I have a chance to make an RPG for the 2600. If I restrict it to 32k then I can let someone else deal with publishing. If I self publish I can buy 256k ROM carts and really go big with level data, music, hi res screens etc.. However, I have no experience publishing. Doesn't seem like the fun part of releasing a game.

Do I pare down my game design until it fits into 32k or go big and deal with packaging, manuals, order processing, etc..

I have a chance to make an RPG for the 2600. If I restrict it to 32k then I can let someone else deal with publishing. If I self publish I can buy 256k ROM carts and really go big with level data, music, hi res screens etc.. However, I have no experience publishing. Doesn't seem like the fun part of releasing a game.

Do I pare down my game design until it fits into 32k or go big and deal with packaging, manuals, order processing, etc..

My advice would be to make the game first. Make it how you want it. Don't compromise on anything until you have to, and have fun with the game making part. And once it's done - then you can make these decisions much more easily.

theloon    0

Thanks for the advice. I might divide the game into sections that work in 32k. I could always expand to the full 256k in a deluxe version. Perhaps fumbling around funding through a round with kickstarter for that one.

To self publish or not depends on several things...

a ) By self publishing you maintain control over cost and quality.

b ) Providing that the quality of the manuals & service a third party would provide is at least equal to that you could provide yourself would you consider what (if anything) they would charge for publishing for you to be value for money considering the time and effort it would save you

Perhaps you could arrange a hybrid system where you produce the 256K carts and the third party to does the rest?

LinkoVitch    0