Jump to content


Photo

Removers's MOD Player vs U-235 Sound Engine


18 replies to this topic

#1 Orion_

Orion_

    Rick dangerous

  • Level1
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,078 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:OldSchool Coding =)

Posted 10 January 2013 - 03:49 PM

I was checking the DiamJag source, the initial version used the old sinister player, but it had bugs after playing too much sfx.
Around 2008 I replaced It by the Removers's MOD Player (from rmvlib) and it was working quite well.

Now I was thinking of using U-235 sound engine and I was wondering what would be the advantage over the removers's one.
did someone test the 2 engines ?

my Website with all my homebrew projects !

"C'est la ou tu vois la supériorité de la vitamine C sur les dragibus !" - Fadest, RGC 2008

#2 sh3-rg

sh3-rg

    Super sprint

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:bolton, england
  • Interests:/|\<br />ynwa

Posted 10 January 2013 - 05:25 PM

QUOTE (Orion_ @ 10 Jan 2013, 14:49) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I was checking the DiamJag source, the initial version used the old sinister player, but it had bugs after playing too much sfx.
Around 2008 I replaced It by the Removers's MOD Player (from rmvlib) and it was working quite well.

Now I was thinking of using U-235 sound engine and I was wondering what would be the advantage over the removers's one.
did someone test the 2 engines ?


I think Seb's latest version of the Removers player is very advanced, very high replay quality and supports mods with up to 8 channels (though might be remembering it wrong, sorry!). OK I searched, there's a post about it here.

I don't know that anyone has really put one against the other, all I can say for sure is that u235 outperforms Sinister (Tempest 2000) player as I've seen the difference when it is swapped out.
Would you Push The Button?
"Do not trust people who offer incense" - zerosquare offering some important advice via google translate

#3 SebRmv

SebRmv

    Rick dangerous

  • Level1
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,557 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Interests:J'aime jouer mais ce n'est pas très productif. Les jeux auxquels j'ai joué dans l'année sont: PES 5, Civ 4, Guild Wars, POP: The Two Thrones.<br />J'aime aussi coder. Je n'ai rien contre un bon film ou un bouquin. Il m'arrive aussi de ressortir mon violon.

Posted 10 January 2013 - 09:08 PM

I am particularly proud of the new engine I made last year and I recommend upgrade to the new version, if you are still using the previous one.

I don't know however how it compares to U-235 sound engine.

Seb/The Removers
http://removers.atari.org/

#4 Orion_

Orion_

    Rick dangerous

  • Level1
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,078 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:OldSchool Coding =)

Posted 11 January 2013 - 10:37 AM

it seems like I will upgrade to the newest version of your player.
minor change to do then smile.gif

my Website with all my homebrew projects !

"C'est la ou tu vois la supériorité de la vitamine C sur les dragibus !" - Fadest, RGC 2008

#5 Orion_

Orion_

    Rick dangerous

  • Level1
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,078 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:OldSchool Coding =)

Posted 12 January 2013 - 05:07 PM

I had some strange op list update problem with your replayer SebRmv, my sprites were flickering a bit.
also, I didn't know what player to use, paula.o or sound.o ?

I tried the U235 engine, it's working fine, but the music is not correctly replayed (tempo problems)

seems like the new mod I use is not very u235 friendly :/

my Website with all my homebrew projects !

"C'est la ou tu vois la supériorité de la vitamine C sur les dragibus !" - Fadest, RGC 2008

#6 GroovyBee

GroovyBee
  • Members
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North, England

Posted 12 January 2013 - 05:26 PM

QUOTE (Orion_ @ 12 Jan 2013, 17:07) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I tried the U235 engine, it's working fine, but the music is not correctly replayed (tempo problems)


Send a bug report to to Linkovitch and I'm sure he'll look into the problem for you.


#7 sh3-rg

sh3-rg

    Super sprint

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:bolton, england
  • Interests:/|\<br />ynwa

Posted 12 January 2013 - 05:56 PM

...one day tongue.gif
Would you Push The Button?
"Do not trust people who offer incense" - zerosquare offering some important advice via google translate

#8 Orion_

Orion_

    Rick dangerous

  • Level1
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,078 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:OldSchool Coding =)

Posted 12 January 2013 - 10:09 PM

I did, but the email on his website doesn't work :/

Also, I'm trying to get Sfx working but it seems I cannot.
All I ear is a strange sound but not my Sfx.

CODE

My SfxBank table is this:
.long
SfxBank:
dc.l SfxDiam,SfxDiamE,0,0,64,16000
dc.l SfxMenu,SfxMenuE,0,0,64,16000

Before starting DSP I do this:
move.l #SfxBank,U235SE_ptr_sample_bank

To Play a Sfx I have made this little routine:
moveq #1,d0 ; sample
moveq #4,d1 ; channel (after mod voices)
bsr U235_PlaySfx


U235_PlaySfx: ; d0 = sample N, d1 = channel

lea U235_Playlist,a0

; move.l #SfxBank,d2 ; This seems not to work either
; and.b #$f0,d2
; or.b #$b,d2
; move.l d2,(a0)+

moveq #2,d2 ; Play
lsl.w #8,d0
lsl.w #4,d1
or.w d0,d2 ; Sample N
or.w d1,d2 ; Channel

move.l d2,(a0)+
move.l #0,(a0)

move.l #U235_Playlist,U235SE_sfxplaylist_ptr

rts

.bss

.long
U235_Playlist:
ds.l 8


any clue to u235 engine users ?
my Website with all my homebrew projects !

"C'est la ou tu vois la supériorité de la vitamine C sur les dragibus !" - Fadest, RGC 2008

#9 Cyrano Jones

Cyrano Jones

    formerly known as Mr Morden

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 239 posts

Posted 13 January 2013 - 01:43 AM

here's the RAPTOR function to call sample playback

CODE
RAPTOR_U235playsample:
    lea        playlist,a0        ; The address of the sound effect playlist
    lea        U235SE_sfxplaylist_ptr,a1

    move.l     #RAPTOR_samplebank|$b,(a0)+ ; Write Set bank to playlist
    
    rol.w    #4,d1            ; rotate channel to $000000x0 position
    eor.l    #$1f400004,d1    ; $1f40=8000Hz  4=PLAY SAMPLE
    rol.w    #8,d0
    or.w    d0,d1            ; sample number
    move.l    d1,(a0)+
;    add.l    #$00000010,d1
;    move.l    d1,(a0)+        ; next channel up
    moveq    #0,d0
    move.l    d0,(a0)
    
    
    move.l    #playlist,(a1)    ; once the list is complete, we need to set the playlist pointer to point at it
    rts


#10 Cyrano Jones

Cyrano Jones

    formerly known as Mr Morden

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 239 posts

Posted 13 January 2013 - 01:51 AM

Actually, if you want I can send you the Degz module.

If that works, then its the mod your are using, if it doesn't then something else is wrong because we know that module works.

Let me know.

#11 Orion_

Orion_

    Rick dangerous

  • Level1
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,078 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:OldSchool Coding =)

Posted 13 January 2013 - 01:55 AM

I tried reshoot.mod from 505 and it's working smile.gif
but the sfx aren't :/
I tried your code and there is still no change, the best I got is a sample from the module bank playing, but not my actual sfx data
do you have u235 dev email ? the one on his website doesn't work.

my Website with all my homebrew projects !

"C'est la ou tu vois la supériorité de la vitamine C sur les dragibus !" - Fadest, RGC 2008

#12 Cyrano Jones

Cyrano Jones

    formerly known as Mr Morden

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 239 posts

Posted 13 January 2013 - 01:58 AM

QUOTE (Orion_ @ 13 Jan 2013, 02:55) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I tried reshoot.mod from 505 and it's working smile.gif
but the sfx aren't :/
I tried your code and there is still no change, the best I got is a sample from the module bank playing, but not my actual sfx data
do you have u235 dev email ? the one on his website doesn't work.



Ah, the sample bank pointer changed between 0.17 and 0.19 (I think) - hang on...

The samples used to start at 32, now they start at 0 (I think) - not sure if linko updated the docs. Best to PM him on AA.



#13 Orion_

Orion_

    Rick dangerous

  • Level1
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,078 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:OldSchool Coding =)

Posted 13 January 2013 - 09:46 AM

ok got it, the SfxBank table had to be aligned on ".dphrase" (and not .long)
it's working now smile.gif

my Website with all my homebrew projects !

"C'est la ou tu vois la supériorité de la vitamine C sur les dragibus !" - Fadest, RGC 2008

#14 SebRmv

SebRmv

    Rick dangerous

  • Level1
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,557 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Interests:J'aime jouer mais ce n'est pas très productif. Les jeux auxquels j'ai joué dans l'année sont: PES 5, Civ 4, Guild Wars, POP: The Two Thrones.<br />J'aime aussi coder. Je n'ai rien contre un bon film ou un bouquin. Il m'arrive aussi de ressortir mon violon.

Posted 13 January 2013 - 10:08 AM

QUOTE (Orion_ @ 12 Jan 2013, 17:07) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I had some strange op list update problem with your replayer SebRmv, my sprites were flickering a bit.
also, I didn't know what player to use, paula.o or sound.o ?

I tried the U235 engine, it's working fine, but the music is not correctly replayed (tempo problems)

seems like the new mod I use is not very u235 friendly :/


It should be paula.o, if I am right.

How do you update the OP list? Can you reproduce a minimal bug report? If yes, I would be happy to look at it.
Seb/The Removers
http://removers.atari.org/

#15 Orion_

Orion_

    Rick dangerous

  • Level1
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,078 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:OldSchool Coding =)

Posted 13 January 2013 - 12:18 PM

In the vbl int, like this:
vbl:
bsr mod play routine
bsr update op list
vblack
rte

Also, I didn't call the setup interupt routine like you did in the example, as I don't use the complete rmvlib, just the mod player

I don't know if I can reproduce it or not, I will try to do it again.

my Website with all my homebrew projects !

"C'est la ou tu vois la supériorité de la vitamine C sur les dragibus !" - Fadest, RGC 2008

#16 SebRmv

SebRmv

    Rick dangerous

  • Level1
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,557 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Interests:J'aime jouer mais ce n'est pas très productif. Les jeux auxquels j'ai joué dans l'année sont: PES 5, Civ 4, Guild Wars, POP: The Two Thrones.<br />J'aime aussi coder. Je n'ai rien contre un bon film ou un bouquin. Il m'arrive aussi de ressortir mon violon.

Posted 13 January 2013 - 12:24 PM

QUOTE (Orion_ @ 13 Jan 2013, 12:18) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
In the vbl int, like this:
vbl:
bsr mod play routine
bsr update op list
vblack
rte

Also, I didn't call the setup interupt routine like you did in the example, as I don't use the complete rmvlib, just the mod player

I don't know if I can reproduce it or not, I will try to do it again.


Ok, in this case, just reverse the order in which you call the interrupts (ie update OP list before mod routine). This will solve the problem.
Seb/The Removers
http://removers.atari.org/

#17 Orion_

Orion_

    Rick dangerous

  • Level1
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,078 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:OldSchool Coding =)

Posted 13 January 2013 - 12:59 PM

I inverted in my post, the order is right: op update, then play module
it's doing the same thing, but only on Virtual Jaguar biggrin.gif
on the real Jaguar it's working (but the module music doesn't play very well compared to the original)
I made a minimal version so you can test if you want (mp)

my Website with all my homebrew projects !

"C'est la ou tu vois la supériorité de la vitamine C sur les dragibus !" - Fadest, RGC 2008

#18 LinkoVitch

LinkoVitch

    Great giana sister

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, UK
  • Interests:Cycling (road mainly, but XC MTB too). Coding, mostly Atari Jaguar but also tools for Windows etc.

Posted 13 January 2013 - 06:53 PM

QUOTE (Orion_ @ 13 Jan 2013, 00:55) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I tried reshoot.mod from 505 and it's working smile.gif
but the sfx aren't :/
I tried your code and there is still no change, the best I got is a sample from the module bank playing, but not my actual sfx data
do you have u235 dev email ? the one on his website doesn't work.



Oops! sorry not been paying attention too much to the scene.. My email address on my website should work though.. linkovitch@u-235.co.uk ??

Did you solve all the U235SE problems?

(just been pointed at this thread)

#19 LinkoVitch

LinkoVitch

    Great giana sister

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, UK
  • Interests:Cycling (road mainly, but XC MTB too). Coding, mostly Atari Jaguar but also tools for Windows etc.

Posted 13 January 2013 - 07:19 PM

QUOTE (LinkoVitch @ 13 Jan 2013, 17:53) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE (Orion_ @ 13 Jan 2013, 00:55) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I tried reshoot.mod from 505 and it's working smile.gif
but the sfx aren't :/
I tried your code and there is still no change, the best I got is a sample from the module bank playing, but not my actual sfx data
do you have u235 dev email ? the one on his website doesn't work.



Oops! sorry not been paying attention too much to the scene.. My email address on my website should work though.. linkovitch@u-235.co.uk ??

Did you solve all the U235SE problems?

(just been pointed at this thread)


Just checked, and the config for that mailbox was wiped out in a server crash! DOH! sorry (the info@ one!) my bad! Have fixed that now, sorry for cockup



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users