IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Removers's MOD Player vs U-235 Sound Engine
Orion_
post 10 Jan 2013, 15:49
Post #1


Rick dangerous
***

Group: Level1
Posts: 1.047
Joined: 2-1 06
Member No.: 29



I was checking the DiamJag source, the initial version used the old sinister player, but it had bugs after playing too much sfx.
Around 2008 I replaced It by the Removers's MOD Player (from rmvlib) and it was working quite well.

Now I was thinking of using U-235 sound engine and I was wondering what would be the advantage over the removers's one.
did someone test the 2 engines ?


--------------------
my Website with all my homebrew projects !

"C'est la ou tu vois la supériorité de la vitamine C sur les dragibus !" - Fadest, RGC 2008
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sh3-rg
post 10 Jan 2013, 17:25
Post #2


Super sprint
**

Group: Members
Posts: 348
Joined: 3-6 09
From: bolton, england
Member No.: 227



QUOTE (Orion_ @ 10 Jan 2013, 14:49) *
I was checking the DiamJag source, the initial version used the old sinister player, but it had bugs after playing too much sfx.
Around 2008 I replaced It by the Removers's MOD Player (from rmvlib) and it was working quite well.

Now I was thinking of using U-235 sound engine and I was wondering what would be the advantage over the removers's one.
did someone test the 2 engines ?


I think Seb's latest version of the Removers player is very advanced, very high replay quality and supports mods with up to 8 channels (though might be remembering it wrong, sorry!). OK I searched, there's a post about it here.

I don't know that anyone has really put one against the other, all I can say for sure is that u235 outperforms Sinister (Tempest 2000) player as I've seen the difference when it is swapped out.


--------------------
Would you Push The Button?
"Do not trust people who offer incense" - zerosquare offering some important advice via google translate
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SebRmv
post 10 Jan 2013, 21:08
Post #3


Rick dangerous
***

Group: Level1
Posts: 1.557
Joined: 23-1 06
From: Paris, France
Member No.: 31



I am particularly proud of the new engine I made last year and I recommend upgrade to the new version, if you are still using the previous one.

I don't know however how it compares to U-235 sound engine.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Orion_
post 11 Jan 2013, 10:37
Post #4


Rick dangerous
***

Group: Level1
Posts: 1.047
Joined: 2-1 06
Member No.: 29



it seems like I will upgrade to the newest version of your player.
minor change to do then smile.gif


--------------------
my Website with all my homebrew projects !

"C'est la ou tu vois la supériorité de la vitamine C sur les dragibus !" - Fadest, RGC 2008
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Orion_
post 12 Jan 2013, 17:07
Post #5


Rick dangerous
***

Group: Level1
Posts: 1.047
Joined: 2-1 06
Member No.: 29



I had some strange op list update problem with your replayer SebRmv, my sprites were flickering a bit.
also, I didn't know what player to use, paula.o or sound.o ?

I tried the U235 engine, it's working fine, but the music is not correctly replayed (tempo problems)

seems like the new mod I use is not very u235 friendly :/


--------------------
my Website with all my homebrew projects !

"C'est la ou tu vois la supériorité de la vitamine C sur les dragibus !" - Fadest, RGC 2008
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GroovyBee
post 12 Jan 2013, 17:26
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 25-11 11
From: North, England
Member No.: 314



QUOTE (Orion_ @ 12 Jan 2013, 17:07) *
I tried the U235 engine, it's working fine, but the music is not correctly replayed (tempo problems)


Send a bug report to to Linkovitch and I'm sure he'll look into the problem for you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sh3-rg
post 12 Jan 2013, 17:56
Post #7


Super sprint
**

Group: Members
Posts: 348
Joined: 3-6 09
From: bolton, england
Member No.: 227



...one day tongue.gif


--------------------
Would you Push The Button?
"Do not trust people who offer incense" - zerosquare offering some important advice via google translate
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Orion_
post 12 Jan 2013, 22:09
Post #8


Rick dangerous
***

Group: Level1
Posts: 1.047
Joined: 2-1 06
Member No.: 29



I did, but the email on his website doesn't work :/

Also, I'm trying to get Sfx working but it seems I cannot.
All I ear is a strange sound but not my Sfx.

CODE

My SfxBank table is this:
.long
SfxBank:
dc.l SfxDiam,SfxDiamE,0,0,64,16000
dc.l SfxMenu,SfxMenuE,0,0,64,16000

Before starting DSP I do this:
move.l #SfxBank,U235SE_ptr_sample_bank

To Play a Sfx I have made this little routine:
moveq #1,d0 ; sample
moveq #4,d1 ; channel (after mod voices)
bsr U235_PlaySfx


U235_PlaySfx: ; d0 = sample N, d1 = channel

lea U235_Playlist,a0

; move.l #SfxBank,d2 ; This seems not to work either
; and.b #$f0,d2
; or.b #$b,d2
; move.l d2,(a0)+

moveq #2,d2 ; Play
lsl.w #8,d0
lsl.w #4,d1
or.w d0,d2 ; Sample N
or.w d1,d2 ; Channel

move.l d2,(a0)+
move.l #0,(a0)

move.l #U235_Playlist,U235SE_sfxplaylist_ptr

rts

.bss

.long
U235_Playlist:
ds.l 8


any clue to u235 engine users ?


--------------------
my Website with all my homebrew projects !

"C'est la ou tu vois la supériorité de la vitamine C sur les dragibus !" - Fadest, RGC 2008
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cyrano Jones
post 13 Jan 2013, 01:43
Post #9


formerly known as Mr Morden
*

Group: Members
Posts: 220
Joined: 25-6 09
Member No.: 231



here's the RAPTOR function to call sample playback

CODE
RAPTOR_U235playsample:
    lea        playlist,a0        ; The address of the sound effect playlist
    lea        U235SE_sfxplaylist_ptr,a1

    move.l     #RAPTOR_samplebank|$b,(a0)+ ; Write Set bank to playlist
    
    rol.w    #4,d1            ; rotate channel to $000000x0 position
    eor.l    #$1f400004,d1    ; $1f40=8000Hz  4=PLAY SAMPLE
    rol.w    #8,d0
    or.w    d0,d1            ; sample number
    move.l    d1,(a0)+
;    add.l    #$00000010,d1
;    move.l    d1,(a0)+        ; next channel up
    moveq    #0,d0
    move.l    d0,(a0)
    
    
    move.l    #playlist,(a1)    ; once the list is complete, we need to set the playlist pointer to point at it
    rts
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cyrano Jones
post 13 Jan 2013, 01:51
Post #10


formerly known as Mr Morden
*

Group: Members
Posts: 220
Joined: 25-6 09
Member No.: 231



Actually, if you want I can send you the Degz module.

If that works, then its the mod your are using, if it doesn't then something else is wrong because we know that module works.

Let me know.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Orion_
post 13 Jan 2013, 01:55
Post #11


Rick dangerous
***

Group: Level1
Posts: 1.047
Joined: 2-1 06
Member No.: 29



I tried reshoot.mod from 505 and it's working smile.gif
but the sfx aren't :/
I tried your code and there is still no change, the best I got is a sample from the module bank playing, but not my actual sfx data
do you have u235 dev email ? the one on his website doesn't work.


--------------------
my Website with all my homebrew projects !

"C'est la ou tu vois la supériorité de la vitamine C sur les dragibus !" - Fadest, RGC 2008
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cyrano Jones
post 13 Jan 2013, 01:58
Post #12


formerly known as Mr Morden
*

Group: Members
Posts: 220
Joined: 25-6 09
Member No.: 231



QUOTE (Orion_ @ 13 Jan 2013, 02:55) *
I tried reshoot.mod from 505 and it's working smile.gif
but the sfx aren't :/
I tried your code and there is still no change, the best I got is a sample from the module bank playing, but not my actual sfx data
do you have u235 dev email ? the one on his website doesn't work.



Ah, the sample bank pointer changed between 0.17 and 0.19 (I think) - hang on...

The samples used to start at 32, now they start at 0 (I think) - not sure if linko updated the docs. Best to PM him on AA.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Orion_
post 13 Jan 2013, 09:46
Post #13


Rick dangerous
***

Group: Level1
Posts: 1.047
Joined: 2-1 06
Member No.: 29



ok got it, the SfxBank table had to be aligned on ".dphrase" (and not .long)
it's working now smile.gif


--------------------
my Website with all my homebrew projects !

"C'est la ou tu vois la supériorité de la vitamine C sur les dragibus !" - Fadest, RGC 2008
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SebRmv
post 13 Jan 2013, 10:08
Post #14


Rick dangerous
***

Group: Level1
Posts: 1.557
Joined: 23-1 06
From: Paris, France
Member No.: 31



QUOTE (Orion_ @ 12 Jan 2013, 17:07) *
I had some strange op list update problem with your replayer SebRmv, my sprites were flickering a bit.
also, I didn't know what player to use, paula.o or sound.o ?

I tried the U235 engine, it's working fine, but the music is not correctly replayed (tempo problems)

seems like the new mod I use is not very u235 friendly :/


It should be paula.o, if I am right.

How do you update the OP list? Can you reproduce a minimal bug report? If yes, I would be happy to look at it.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Orion_
post 13 Jan 2013, 12:18
Post #15


Rick dangerous
***

Group: Level1
Posts: 1.047
Joined: 2-1 06
Member No.: 29



In the vbl int, like this:
vbl:
bsr mod play routine
bsr update op list
vblack
rte

Also, I didn't call the setup interupt routine like you did in the example, as I don't use the complete rmvlib, just the mod player

I don't know if I can reproduce it or not, I will try to do it again.


--------------------
my Website with all my homebrew projects !

"C'est la ou tu vois la supériorité de la vitamine C sur les dragibus !" - Fadest, RGC 2008
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SebRmv
post 13 Jan 2013, 12:24
Post #16


Rick dangerous
***

Group: Level1
Posts: 1.557
Joined: 23-1 06
From: Paris, France
Member No.: 31



QUOTE (Orion_ @ 13 Jan 2013, 12:18) *
In the vbl int, like this:
vbl:
bsr mod play routine
bsr update op list
vblack
rte

Also, I didn't call the setup interupt routine like you did in the example, as I don't use the complete rmvlib, just the mod player

I don't know if I can reproduce it or not, I will try to do it again.


Ok, in this case, just reverse the order in which you call the interrupts (ie update OP list before mod routine). This will solve the problem.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Orion_
post 13 Jan 2013, 12:59
Post #17


Rick dangerous
***

Group: Level1
Posts: 1.047
Joined: 2-1 06
Member No.: 29



I inverted in my post, the order is right: op update, then play module
it's doing the same thing, but only on Virtual Jaguar biggrin.gif
on the real Jaguar it's working (but the module music doesn't play very well compared to the original)
I made a minimal version so you can test if you want (mp)


--------------------
my Website with all my homebrew projects !

"C'est la ou tu vois la supériorité de la vitamine C sur les dragibus !" - Fadest, RGC 2008
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LinkoVitch
post 13 Jan 2013, 18:53
Post #18


Great giana sister
*

Group: Members
Posts: 106
Joined: 9-11 06
From: Manchester, UK
Member No.: 148



QUOTE (Orion_ @ 13 Jan 2013, 00:55) *
I tried reshoot.mod from 505 and it's working smile.gif
but the sfx aren't :/
I tried your code and there is still no change, the best I got is a sample from the module bank playing, but not my actual sfx data
do you have u235 dev email ? the one on his website doesn't work.



Oops! sorry not been paying attention too much to the scene.. My email address on my website should work though.. linkovitch@u-235.co.uk ??

Did you solve all the U235SE problems?

(just been pointed at this thread)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LinkoVitch
post 13 Jan 2013, 19:19
Post #19


Great giana sister
*

Group: Members
Posts: 106
Joined: 9-11 06
From: Manchester, UK
Member No.: 148



QUOTE (LinkoVitch @ 13 Jan 2013, 17:53) *
QUOTE (Orion_ @ 13 Jan 2013, 00:55) *
I tried reshoot.mod from 505 and it's working smile.gif
but the sfx aren't :/
I tried your code and there is still no change, the best I got is a sample from the module bank playing, but not my actual sfx data
do you have u235 dev email ? the one on his website doesn't work.



Oops! sorry not been paying attention too much to the scene.. My email address on my website should work though.. linkovitch@u-235.co.uk ??

Did you solve all the U235SE problems?

(just been pointed at this thread)


Just checked, and the config for that mailbox was wiped out in a server crash! DOH! sorry (the info@ one!) my bad! Have fixed that now, sorry for cockup
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20-9-2014 / 18:58